TANGLEWOOD PRE-CONCERT TALKS
are back this SUMMER 2019
at the Lenox Library

Fridays at 2:30 pm, Sundays at 11:00 am
in the Sedgwick Reading Room
with Dr. Jeremy Yudkin, Professor of Music at Boston University

 

FREE AND OPEN TO ALL – NO PREVIOUS MUSICAL EXPERIENCE NECESSARY

“Jeremy is fun and really informative.”

“I enjoy the Tanglewood concerts twice as much!”

Dr. Yudkin

Once again, the Pre-Concert talks are FREE thanks to the Town of Lenox and the Lenox Library Association, whose support is provided through a generous grant from anonymous donors.


Friday, July 5. OPENING DAY. “Mozart and Mahler: Elegance, Beauty, and Power”
Mozart’s Piano Concerto, K. 482, and Mahler’s phenomenal Fifth Symphony

Sunday, July 7. “A New World: Dvořák’s America and André Previn’s Love Letter”
Dvořák’s New World Symphony and Previn’s Anne-Sophie Violin Concerto


Friday, July 12. “Verdi’s Musical Extravaganza in the Concert Hall”
Verdi’s Requiem (plus the perennially favorite Grieg Piano Concerto)

Sunday, July 14. “An Unknown Beethoven Masterpiece and a New Trumpet Concerto”
Beethoven’s widely overlooked Fourth Symphony (plus HK Gruber’s Aerial)


Friday, July 19. “A Little French Music and Elgar’s Greatest Work”
Debussy, Ravel, Saint-Saëns and the Enigma Variations

Sunday, July 21. “They’ve Both Got Rhythm: George Gershwin and Stravinsky”
Gershwin’s Piano Concertos and Stravinsky’s Petrushka


Friday, July 26 and Sunday, July 28. “A Wagner Weekend”
Both days of this weekend’s lectures will be devoted to Wagner’s Die Walküre


Friday, August 2. “The Bohemians Are Coming!”
Dvořák and Martinů. A romantic Violin Concerto and a moving 1943 memorial

Sunday, August 4. “Rach 3, Sibelius 1”
Rachmaninov’s “terrifying” third piano concerto and Sibelius’s brilliant first symphony


Friday, August 9. “Dvořák’s Greatest Symphony and Beethoven’s only Violin Concerto”
The Dvořák Seventh Symphony – and the Violin Concerto that Started It All

Sunday, August 11. “Beethoven’s Heroic Period: The Composer at the Height of His Powers”
Beethoven’s Fourth Piano Concerto and Pastoral Symphony (plus Ives in the Berkshires)


[Friday, August 16. No lecture…because it’s Film Night.]

Sunday, August 18. “Schumann and Brahms (‘Darling of the Muses’)”
Schumann’s Cello Concerto and Brahms’s Serenade for Orchestra


Friday, August 23. “Shakespeare, the Blues, and Two Teenage Composers”
Mendelssohn’s Dream, Ravel’s Piano Concerto, and Schubert’s Second Symphony

Sunday, August 25. “How to Really Understand the Ninth”
Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony